In 1886 the Scottish Co-operative and Wholesale Society hired the architectural firm of (Donald) Bruce & (Edward Alexander Buckingham) Hay to design a complex of warehouses, salesrooms and offices to house their growing business.
Completed in a number of stages the building was completed in 1893 and remained the headquarters of SCWS until their merger with Co-operative Wholesale Society in 1973.
In 1977, the Morrison Street building was transferred into a retail hypermarket inside the historic listed building before being partially demolition to form flats and commercial units before finally being transformed into what we have today.
Now in 2015, the original roof is tired and slowly turning into a state of disrepair. We aim to raise money in order to ensure that this vital work can be carried out in order to maintain this iconic B listed Building which can be seen in all its glory, when travelling North to South via the M8/Kingston Bridge.
What we'll deliver:
Why it's a great idea:
With the age of the building, as stated above, the roof may put at risk:
- the main fabric of the building and its current function as a residential property within the community
- the current market value of individual properties based within the premises
- subsequent loss of iconic status and a black mark against the long history of the building
- the safety of the general public were the roof to fall further into dis-repair
Steps to get it done:
it is said, although denied by the architects, that the design for this building was a recycled design from the entry to a Competition to design the Glasgow City Chambers back in 1880.
About the space
Adjacent to M8/Kingston Bridge Flyover before junction 20
Glasgow City Council